@fisher that was always my worry as well. We had some people who threatened to leave but never did. I think we may have had one or two who did and then when they realized that everyone else charges for it they came back.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .